A solemn statement before the frivolity begins…

We live in a technological age. We are surrounded by cell phones, ipods, and laptops. Every day a new gadget is invented to make our lives more “convenient” or “comfortable.”

Well, to be frank, I could do without the lot of it. Obviously this statement must be taken with a grain of salt, as I have typed it on my laptop, posted it to the internet, and hope to watch an episode of Buffy on Netflix once I hop down from my soapbox.

But in all honesty, I really wouldn’t mourn any gadget or convenience if I were magically transported into the middle ages (except for my glasses, but hey, I can squint).

With all of this “progress” I think we are losing touch with what it means to truly live. We have become spoiled and entitled, and can’t even appreciate the things that we have because we are so immersed in the age in which we live. We drone on through the days, missing so much, because of the constant distraction and meaninglessness. There is so much packed into every instant, every scene, it is impossible to see anything. Tabloids, television, billboards, facebook, twitter, McDonalds, itunes.

So many people in the world are sleepwalking through their lives. I want to wake up, if only for a moment or two every day.

This means several things for me…

I want to be more in touch with the use of my time. Would it be fun to lose a weekend to watching Lost on Dvd? Yes. Would it be a responsible use of my time? Probably not.

I want to be more in touch with the commodities I purchase. Rather than buying, I would like to make as much as possible.

I want to create things. If I must watch that season of Lost, I can at least knit while I’m doing so.

I want to grow some of my own food. Maybe just some parsley at first, and then we’ll see.

I want to engage with the “old world” of letter-writing, handkerchief-carrying, pipe-smoking, skirt-wearing fun.

I want to see the leaves on the trees. I want to take walks and notice the things that I pass.

I want to take more pictures.

This will be an account of my time. In chronicling my triumphs and failures, I hope at least to be made more aware. It will be called the “Uffda Venture” — “Uffda” is a Scandinavian exclamation, often expressing sensory overload or dismay (along the lines of “ay me” or “oy ve”). I also associate it with exertion, as you might say it when launching yourself out of a comfy armchair after a heavy meal. I think this is an appropriate title for my venture, as I am both overcome by sensory overload, as well as trying to exert myself.

I doubt this will be a total transformation of my life. I will still experience the modern marvels that are cars, toilets, and computers. But I hope to at least change a little thing here or there. In all practicality, I hope to do at least one thing a week that will be worthy of this lengthy and sanctimonious statement of purpose, and post about it here.

This chronicle will probably often look like a crafting blog. At other times it may look like a ranting-space against technology. At other times it may look like a blog that hasn’t been updated in a very long time. But I will try to stay true to my cause as best I can.

If nobody reads it, that will be just fine. If I don’t even post one more entry, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

